Bento background blur
Bento logo
Bento
4.7
(10)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Bento Reviews & Product Details

Bento Overview
What is Bento?

Bento is a marketing automation platform and email marketing service for small businesses and startups. It allows users to send targeted emails and SMS messages, create automated flows based on customer behavior and purchases, and engage in live chat conversations with customers across multiple channels like email, social media, and website chat.


Bento is also often used as Email Marketing of choice in Creator and Indie Hacker tech stacks.

Bento Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Bento
What Bento is best for?
How does Bento compare to Mailmodo?
What are the pros and cons of Bento?
Bento Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Ease of use
Beginner
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based
Support Email/Help Desk
Training Documentation
Languages English
Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 24, 2024
Bento logo
10 Bento Reviews
4.7 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 18, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
PC
Pawel C.
Founder
Share
"Why choose Bento?"
What do you like best about Bento?

Advanced email marketing and event calling capabilities that I don't have to overpay for. Other tools are full of features that I have to pay for, but I don't need them for email marketing. Meanwhile, Bento has everything I need. Plus they have great customer support and are improving the platform all the time. I've been using it for several months now and haven't had any problems so far.

What do you dislike about Bento?

At this point I see no flaws, everything works well.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

With Bento, I automate a lot of things related to customer acquisition. Bento has some cool triggers so that I don't have to use additional software to effectively make money with email marketing.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 16, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Bitsy T. avatar
Bitsy T.
Company Owner
Share
"Excellent MailChimp Replacement"
What do you like best about Bento?

Powerful and it has great optimisation for my many lists

What do you dislike about Bento?

It is a tad complicated. But the Discord team is very helpful so it's not a big problem.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

I get more of my fans to see my emails and I can tell what they are interacting with most to better help me send them content they like.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
KS
Kshitij S.
Founder
Share
"An absolutely delightful full features marketing automation platform"
What do you like best about Bento?

Bento is full to gill with features for power users of marketing automation and ensures that you can create any marketing journey you want as per your needs. Integrations a plenty with a founder that actively engages with the community on Discord is the cherry on top. Also, due to their extremely focus on deliverability, the IP addresses are always healthy which helps your message get to customers. We send emailers to our clients multiple times a week and almost never see and issue. As a bonus their batching feature has saved our neck more than once.

What do you dislike about Bento?

The UI can be overwhelming for new users. A lot of things to learn when you first get started. If they had generic templates of best practices that would help.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

As an e-commerce store staying in touch with our customers via email is extremely important. Bento makes that easy and always allows us to deliver a customized high touch approach to our clients.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
TF
Tiziano F.
Founder
Share
"Packed with features and a joy to use"
What do you like best about Bento?

Bento offers features that are hard to find in other email marketing solutions, such as tracking visitors on the site before they even sign up and a chat system. In addition, being event-based allows for incredibly powerful and flexible automations. Bento also has some goodies such as the ability to send emails in batches, the ability to group tags into groups, and the ability to set tags to expire. In addition, although a lot of external services do not integrate directly with Bento, it is really very easy to integrate with this email marketing automation solution. I personally use it mostly on WordPress sites and implementing it with this CMS is really easy. Since I started using Bento I have also seen an increase in the delivarability of my messages. I was also positively impressed by the support through Discord. It is very easy to talk and get quick answers directly from the founder of Bento. A whole different thing from the long wait times that happen with other services. In some cases, with Bento, new features are added in no time at all.

What do you dislike about Bento?

So far I have not had any problems with Bento. However, it would not be bad if there was more documentation on the site. At the moment most of the information is accessible mainly by participating in discussions on Discord and searching the archives of past conversations.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

Making email marketing automation activities easier through contact segmentation, based on user interactions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 15, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LJ
Luke J.
Founder
Share
"Great product with even better service"
What do you like best about Bento?

The support and community within Bento is hands down the best I've ever seen from any company, ever. Any question I have is always answered quickly and effectively - and I have many questions as someone without a lot of experience in the email marketing field.

What do you dislike about Bento?

It's a little tricky to use and navigate when you've not logged in for a while.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Bento for email capture, sequences and one-off email campaigns. Their detection features allows me to ensure we're not adding bots to our email list and their focus on deliverability means we're always to maintain a high open rate.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 01, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Arnaud B. avatar
Arnaud B.
Co Founder
Share
"Excellent email marketing software for SaaS, great ROI!"
What do you like best about Bento?

I love how easy it is to use to design SaaS emailing sequences. You can also see rapidly which campaigns are the money makers. But what I love the most is undoubtedly the deliverability that you have once you've set up custom domain tracking

What do you dislike about Bento?

I'm not a big fan of its visual editor but it's fine, I just don't use as a result and reach my goals in another way. There is some minor bugs also but they're always fixed very rapidly.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bento solves the problem of setting up SaaS email sequences that don't go to the spam folder (1) and that allow us to active our users (2) so that they take an active subscription on our software (3).

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Dec 06, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Santiago Gonzalez G. avatar
Santiago Gonzalez G.
Marketing Lead
Share
"Awesomely flexible automation and communication for SaaS marketers"
What do you like best about Bento?

Bento's automation capabilities are almost infinite through its Workflows feature where you can use ANY user generated-event (either standard or custom events captured through code) as a trigger for a workflow. These workflows can start/stop email sequences, chat conversations; or they can update your CRM and other systems via webhooks or Zapier integration.

What do you dislike about Bento?

Some of the reports are not as clear/useful as they could be considering the wealth of underlying data.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bento helps us gain a full view of our users and their stages of app usage, feeding data to our user's profiles so we can reach out and accompany their journey.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Nov 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Alicia J. avatar
Alicia J.
Virtual Assistant
Share
"Everything at your finger tips"
What do you like best about Bento?

The most helpful thing about bento is having all the stuff required for email marketing at your finger tip. The upside on using bento is not having to use 10 different apps.

What do you dislike about Bento?

I don't have any issues with bento at all because bento is a dream come true. Maybe in the future I might revisit but right now I'm happy with them.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bento helps you save a lot of time crafting your emails by using the AI part.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 31, 2023
 Source
Overall Rating:
4.5
JH
Jon H.
Founder
Share
"Excellent, reliable service"
What do you like best about Bento?

I'm supremely confident Bento can handle any email marketing requirements I might dream up, thanks to its powerful automation tools (flows). Crucially, it's also possible to debug that automation, to see precisely what events/actions have occurred for each subscriber, via Bento's detailed logs. This puts it above other tools which hide that information, or only paint a partial picture.

What do you dislike about Bento?

As a developer I find it easy to work with. Saying that, I get the impression that, for less technical folk it could be a little overwhelming, with a relatively steep initial learning curve (personally I got over that hump within the first few days!)

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

I want people who visit my blog to ultimately have the opportunity to become customers. Bento handles this flow for me, taking people from initial signup, through onboarding, then on to a number of pitch sequences (sent over a period of time). I also use Bento to end out my weekly "shadow" newsletter (a compilation of my most useful emails/articles) plus my semi-regular "live" newsletter (sent via broadcasts).

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jan 14, 2024
 Source
Overall Rating:
2.5
DD
Dolores D.
Mechanical Inspector
Share
"A Cumbersome Marketing Automation Solution"
What do you like best about Bento?

Bento is not very user friendly for developers like me. Once you get the hang of it its difficult to work with and navigate. The interface seems overwhelming for newcomers. Personally, I am unable to overcome that learning curve.

What do you dislike about Bento?

The worst part is that I have encountered many issues with Bento far. Its a platform that does not help me to achieve my goals. There are some bugs and the visual editor isnt my favorite, the Bento team has not promptly solved problems and their customer support is poor.

What problems is Bento solving and how is that benefiting you?

Bento does not provide the depth and customization some businesses require. The AI email crafting feature lacks the personal touch that customers appreciate. Bentos emphasis on deliverability overlooks engagement metrics which hinder understanding and catering to customer preferences.