Airtable background blur
Airtable logo
Airtable
Flexible Database for Teams
4.6
(2,219)
Why Findstack is free?
Findstack is free for users because vendors pay us when they receive web traffic and sales opportunities. Findstack directories list all vendors — not just those that pay us so that you can make the best-informed purchase decision possible.
Findstack offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Airtable Reviews & Product Details

Airtable Overview
What is Airtable?

Airtable is a powerful visual project management platform that synergizes data, workflows, and execution teams on a unified dashboard. Streamlining work streams, the platform provides a synced and up-to-date information database that can be accessed by all stakeholders across different departments. Customization is at the heart of Airtable, allowing teams to create personalized apps and a tailored interface allowing easy access to relevant information and giving clear sightlines to the next steps. While customization is a key benefit, it also offers ready-to-use and pre-loaded industry-agnostic templates while extensive integrations and expandability make it scalable and agile.

Company Formagrid, Inc.
Year founded 2012
Company size 201-500 employees
Headquarters San Francisco, California, United States
Social Media
Managed by:
Axel Grubba
Founder
Airtable Categories on Findstack
Ask Questions about Airtable
What Airtable is best for?
How does Airtable compare to Asana?
What are the pros and cons of Airtable?
Airtable Product Details
Capabilities
API
Segment
Small Business
Mid Market
Enterprise
Deployment Cloud / SaaS / Web-Based, Mobile Android, Mobile iPad, Mobile iPhone
Support 24/7 (Live rep), Chat, Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Phone Support
Training Documentation
Languages English
Airtable Features
Agile Methodologies Support
Budget Management
Calendar Integration
Client Portal
Collaboration Tools
Customizable Dashboards
Dependency Tracking
Document Management
File Sharing
Gantt Charts
Integration with Third-Party Apps
Issue Tracking
Kanban Boards
Milestone Tracking
Mobile Access
Notifications and Alerts
Portfolio Management
Progress Tracking
Project Planning
Project Templates
Real-Time Updates
Reporting and Analytics
Resource Management
Risk Management
Role-Based Access Control
Sprints Management
Task Management
Team Communication
Time Tracking
Workflow Automation
Airtable Media
Airtable 0
Airtable 1
Airtable 2
Airtable 3
Airtable 4
Airtable Screenshots
Airtable Expert Review

Workflow management is a critical part of any job. It’s what keeps a project moving, and a team motivated to see it through. But, how do you support effective workflow management?

You start with understanding better what tools, platforms, and software are out there that can support your team’s ability to effectively manage workflow and collaborate within their teams and beyond.

To that end, we’ve identified Airtable as a strong market leader in workflow management software. So, let’s dive into Airtable’s features, capabilities, and price points to help you better understand your options.

Airtable homepage

What Is Airtable?

Airtable is a workflow management application with highly customizable database management tools used predominantly for collaborative project management.

The focus on having accessible, easy-to-use software to help with project management is increasing, and Airtable is a top choice. It features a familiar spreadsheet interface, but unlike traditional spreadsheet software that only records data, Airtable can also help you organize, sync, and manage your data and customize exactly how you need it.

For example, let’s say you’re using Airtable to manage vendor management workflow for an event. This would entail designing the database to include fields for:

  • Vendors’ contact details
  • Links to their websites
  • Inputting key information, such as lead times, product availabilities, and prices
  • Uploading order confirmations
  • Uploading invoices
  • Important notes and comments about the vendor

The option to invite collaborators to this database is also critical so individual users can easily update data in real-time. Having all these features in a single platform means users can clearly follow the progression of a particular project and keep everyone in the team up-to-date on their tasks and next steps.

How Much is Airtable

Airtable’s interface is very flexible and is ideal for numerous industries. While it has been marketed to larger corporations, most users who have had hands-on experience with the platform say that it is just as useful for smaller businesses.

This is reflected in Airtable’s pricing, which follows a monthly subscription model. This subscription cost increases depending on the number of features and ‘seats’ you choose to purchase, making it highly scalable depending on your organization’s needs.

Airtable’s features are grouped into four levels, and the price per seat rises accordingly. A breakdown of each level can be found below:

Free

  • Designed for very small teams or individuals
  • Up to 5 editors and unlimited ‘read-only’ users
  • 1200 records per base
  • 2GB of attachments

Plus

$10 per seat – Billed annually

$12 per seat – Billed monthly

  • For small to medium-sized organizations
  • Eliminates information silos within a team by connecting applications
  • More advanced collaboration features
  • 5,000 records per base
  • 5GB of attachments

Pro

$20 per seat – Billed annually

$24 per seat – Billed monthly

  • For medium to large organizations who need to streamline and collaborate on top-priority data
  • More advanced features
  • 50,000 records per base
  • 20 GB of attachments

Enterprise

  • Price is customized to your organization’s needs
  • Enterprise-wide admin panel
  • For organizations who need a scalable product to keep up with workloads
  • Unlimited workspaces per organization
  • 250,000 records per base
  • 1,000 GB of attachments
Airtable Pricing

How Airtable Works

Airtable was built to be as customizable as possible, giving users the ability to display their data in a way that meets their specific needs—whether that means a simple presentation or a more complex one.

Getting started is simple.

You start with an empty Airtable, which is essentially your ‘base.’ From here, you just fill it with your data. You can either use a template and bring in data from another source or construct a database from scratch. Whatever the case, you can leverage Airtable’s features to tailor the platform to meet your needs. For example, you can use the Interface Design feature to visually present data in a way that makes the most sense to you and your team.

Familiarizing and understanding all of Airtable’s features and capabilities may require some effort, but the payoff is worth it. Taking the time to learn the platform will ensure users have full control over their data and workflow management.

Features

Access to Airtable’s numerous features will depend on your subscription and, subsequently, the scalability of your projects. However, all subscription options should include:

  • Unlimited bases
  • Sync integrations
  • The ability to add attachments
  • Revision and snapshot history reporting
  • Field and editing permissions
  • Extension add-ons (e.g., data visualization or reporting extensions)

Airtable also provides:

Customizable Views

With a click of a button, this feature gives users the flexibility to switch between different data views. Users can view project timelines via the Timeline View, and easily switch to managing team tasks on the collaborative Kanban View. Other viewing options are also available ensuring that you can customize your viewing experience so you can maximize the platform.

The Timeline View

Airtable Timeline View

The Kanban View

Airtable Kanban View

Automations

Airtable Automations lets users streamline their work processes and boost team efficiency by providing customization options for notifications and creating multi-step workflows. The feature is helpful in terms of tracking project timelines and helping eliminate manual, repetitive tasks. Additionally, it can also minimize the risk of user error.

Syncing

Airtable’s ability to synchronize data means users have a central repository of information that is updated in real-time across all users and departments. It’s a useful tool that promotes seamless collaboration and data integrations, allowing everyone to enjoy a comprehensive understanding of project status or workflows at the speed of need.

Reporting

To enhance your project’s reporting capabilities, Airtable’s powerful reporting tools and extensions let users create highly customized reports that visualize your data in a simple understandable way. You can choose from a variety of charts, graphs, and tables to ensure that information is presented in a way that is easy to understand.

Airtable sample report

Integrations

Airtable offers robust integration that lets you connect the platform to a wide range of software; ensuring that all the project management tools that you use operate seamlessly. Airtable’s integrations mean multiple applications can be streamlined to automatically sync data, share information between different platforms, and automate tasks so workflows can be further improved.

Airtable integrations

Templates

Airtable’s templates can be used to effectively organize every aspect of your project’s workflows. Their pre-designed databases can be used as a great starting point for your projects. Conveniently, Airtable templates are also organized into several categories and industries, which helps you save time and effort from creating a new one from scratch. As always, these pre-populated grids are highly customizable.

Airtable templates

Airtable Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Facilitates easy collaboration between teams with company-wide visibility of plans, calendars, and workflows.
  • Both Google and non-Google users can take advantage of all the features and integrations to support workflow management and collaboration
  • Highly customizable bases and effective reporting features

Cons

  • The platform’s user interface can be complicated for beginners
  • Requires a significant learning curve

Airtable Alternatives

A great way to decide whether Airtable is the right software for you is to compare it to other options in the workflow management space.

Eliminate the hassle of comparing options by choosing from your top choices below. With the ability to review features and relevant information in one place, you can utilize our comprehensive product reviews to gather the necessary data you need to make well-informed decisions.

ClickUp

An all-in-one project management application, Clickup is designed to be used across any industry. From solo users to larger organizations, Clickup focuses on task management to help teams streamline their workflow.

ClickUp offers numerous workflow features and data views, including a built-in Table View to ensure your team always has access to a condensed, actionable snapshot of your projects.

Notion

Designed for smaller teams or individuals, Notion is an all-in-one SaaS note-taking app and database for streamlined project management. Some features include:

  • A web clipper so you can easily save images and sites
  • A real-time messenger feature
  • Allows for category and page hierarchy organization

Hive

With a focus on automation tools, Hive aims to simplify overly complicated work processes through email and task automation. Boasting a user-friendly dashboard, Hive aims to help teams of all sizes automate time-consuming work tasks to give time back to a project’s creation and growth.

A Final Findstack Opinion

Overall, Airtable is a highly comprehensive and customizable workflow management application.

Airtable’s app offers flexibility by allowing you to switch views and integrate reporting extensions, ensuring your data is suitable for various applications. Additionally, its extensive list of integrations enables you to consolidate all your preferred tools and their data in one convenient location.

It’s important to keep in mind, however, that these features are only useful for those willing to take the time to learn them. Airtable’s interface can be quite overwhelming for new users so our advice is to scale to higher subscription packages only after you’ve taken the time to learn the app’s features and familiarize yourself with them.

Disclaimer
Our research is curated from diverse authoritative sources and meant to offer general advice. We don’t guarantee that our suggestions will work best for each use-case, so consider your unique needs when choosing products and services. Feel free to share your feedback.
Last updated: June 23, 2024
Airtable logo
2,219 Airtable Reviews
4.6 out of 5
Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 05, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Francesca F. avatar
Francesca F.
Community Manager
Share
"Airtable is a great tool for so many businesses cases - even personal"
What do you like best about Airtable?

I like how easily Airtable integrates with several other tools and services that I already use. I use it for multiple no-code projects as my backend database. It's easy to set up and syncs quickly.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

I dislike how you're unable to bulk edit columns in Airtable. It makes setup of databases a bit difficult because you spend too much time individually editing. The only other major thing would be the ability to manage timezones in Airtable especially if I'm working with stakeholders across multiple timezones.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves my problem of creating a backend for my no code projects. It allows me to better manage all kinds of data in a business context compared to the usual habit of using a spreadsheet to do project management, reports, etc.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Oct 04, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LC
Lisa C.
Owner, Website And Graphic Designer
Share
"incredibly flexible software that is great for productivity"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable has loads of very useful and flexible templates. I have used it in teaching sessions and used it to collaborate with clients. It can do almost anything.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Airtable has lots of potential so it is worth spending some time learning what it can do, that learning curve might be a bit steep for some people but it is worth it.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I have used Airtable to keep a record of work tasks, work applied for and as a calendar. The layouts are flexible and it makes a very quick and easy database that is searchable.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Susan T. avatar
Susan T.
Principal Engineer
Share
"Transformation is so easy!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable has changed how I do my job. I can exchange information with others, automate tasks, and gather data rapidly. I can't imagine doing my job without it because it is ingrained in my work.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Airtable makes it simple to manipulate information and data. Data entry is straightforward. The functionality of getting data OUT of Airtable is still not as good as I would like.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

My team and I use Airtable to organize, plan, and iterate on our instructional design projects. The platform enables us to share multimedia files, such as storyboard documents, images, and images, with the product owner for immediate feedback.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AE
Abir E.
Product
Share
"Smarter Databases!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable has a very simple and synchronized method for making databases. I like how with Airtable, I can use a database - configure multiple views, automate things, and even make full-grown interfaces for use.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Airtable UI with 'Workspaces' and 'Bases' can often feel cluttered. There's a lot of material (like Learning & Resources) that really comes in the way of my engagement. Additionally, I think extension preview window could be made better.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I'm running a airtable form that links to an airtable database for similar minded product makers who support each other. Via an Airtable Script Extension, I am able to sort out duplicates & fake submissions.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Sep 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DV
Daniela V.
Customer Support Lead
Share
"Airtable facilitates colaboration"
What do you like best about Airtable?

The personal views and all I can do with them. How many functionalities it has!

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Load time can be long at times, but having a dedicated support person is good.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Having lots, LOTS of data in just one place instead of many sheets.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Sep 13, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JM
Juan M.
Operations Agile Coach
Share
"The new smart spreadsheet like service"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Having familiarity with spreadsheets the jump to this tool is relatively easy, all same logic is applied plus advances easy-to-pick features to build, and organize tables and charts.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

the landing page and how it organizes the tables and charts is very simple, and one needs to remember the resource name, also it'd be nice to have an easy way to integrate tables and dashboards.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

All about spreadsheets, grouping, sorting, filtering, and calculated fields. Add-up is too simple, and also one can't apply formatting rules besides this I like the option to that makes easy to provide different views of the same information.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 30, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
DW
Debbie W.
Project Designer
Share
"Organizes Workload. task lists and projects very well"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is a great tool that helps me organize all the projects I am tracking and itemize and keep track of all the different task lists for each project. I love how Airtable is simple to use and has beautiful colors to help color code different tasks and projects. I also love the filtering and group options, as well as the ability to create different views to help you see the same list differently. Recently the company I work with is looking to leverage Airtable department-wide and I had the opportunity to dive into the pro version before we commit to the Enterprise plan. With the pro plan, I've gotten the chance to play around with the automation tool and it is amazing. I can see the opportunities and the potential airtable can bring for our team and improve our current process and workflow.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Airtable is such a powerful tool to use both for personal use and on the job uses. There are not many things I dislike about airtable other than that it can get a bit pricey with multiple team members.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable is helping me organize all my to-dos and keep track of all the projects that are assigned to me. Airtable is also helping keep the entire team in the know so that information is not missed or forgotten. I leverage Airtalbe both for personal use, business use and I leverage the software at my work. For business and work, Airtable allows me to keep connected to my team members and let's me see what work they have accomplished and what work they are still pending. For personal use, I'm able to organize my short and long term goals in my life and keep track of the personal projects I work on.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 23, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
Preben F. avatar
Preben F.
Cofounder / Techie / Copywriter
Share
"Airtable is the future of managing data"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Where to even begin? Airtable is a new way of running a business. It integrates with many other services, allowing you to modify, manipulate, present, structure, and organize your data however you see fit. We have set up Airtable to sync with all of our eCommerce data from Shopify, allowing us to do nearly anything we want to do, in a matter of seconds. Previously, I had set up an extensive automatic tagging system to be able to find out what I need in Shopify. Now, I can do it right inside Airtable. We are also moving our other data there, since "if it can be done in Airtable, it should." Every single "thing" or setup I have moved into Airtable, has made my life easier. I have a goal of "zero use of copy+p OR calculator", by mid-2023. And I think we can get there even sooner.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

No option for getting bigger bases without going for an enterprise plan. Below 50 000 is enough for the most part, but there are certain use cases where I would like to have more, and I still don't know how to do so, or how much it will cost. Even after clicking the scary "contact sales for pricing" and asking.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable is solving data. Organizing, structuring, presenting, manipulating, importing and pushing any kind of data. The benefit is that I hardly ever need to use a Google sheet anymore, or even do imports and exports with CSV. The data flows automagically, and it gives me peace of mind, better control, and hopes that I may be able to take a holiday at some point.

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Aug 22, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JC
Julien C.
Development Manager
Share
"The best organisation app (or anything you want)"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable is a very powerful tool that can be used for anything you want.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

It is a bit difficult to understand how it works at first, and all the possibilites it offers.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

I use Airtable as a massive organisation ERP for all my comptany.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Aug 02, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
JF
Joseph D. F.
Construction Management
Share
"Modern piece of software serving us adequately"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Capable of storing more diverse data in a structured and organized way. Allows third party to input data into the base. Generates Gantt charts from tables representing tasks with start and end dates

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Customization is satisfactory but the user access levels fail to live up to the flexibility the rest of the platform provides

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Maintain project oversight and never miss a deadline. Access data and migrate it to other databases without compromising its integrity. Breaking down huge tasks into subtasks for easier assignment to teams

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 26, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
AM
Alejandro M.
Coo
Share
"Easy to use"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Its simple to use, its like a Excel but with a lot of applications that you can use for your organization, my team use its all the days and you can use it in your cellphone too.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Sometimes is very slow to use, like in the appliacation

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Control inventory, Sales order, Programation for post order and tables for presentations with data of our clients

Small Business (50 or fewer emp.)
Jul 25, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
LL
Laure L.
Manager In E Trade Marketing (Chef D'équipe E Trade Marketing)
Share
"It will completely change your way to manage your job"
What do you like best about Airtable?

It is 100% personalizable, super simple to use. With the filter and the systems of views, it's easy to work. We use it as a team, we can manage all the information at the same time.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

In my opinion, the design can be improved a little bit. The tables look all the same, we can not personalize the color of the column or line for example. With this option, it will be more readable.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Airtable solved a lot of problems that we had. We can work on it at the same time, with different filters and views. When there is a Changement, we get notified. We can improve our table at any time to make some automation, improvement.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 19, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
VG
Vykintas G.
Head Of No Code Development
Share
"AirTable is a life-changing tool. And I'm not overstating."
What do you like best about Airtable?

If you have great logical/computational thinking and love creating/building things... AirTable may become life-changing for you (as it's become for me). It has a steeper learning curve than most other more specified SaaS tools (e.g. Project management, knowledge management, ticketing systems etc.) but once you master AirTable - you can build nearly anything with AirTable and customise any user interface to your specific needs. Build: • Internal apps • Databases • Workflow optimization • Process automation • Dashboards • Even backend for customer-facing apps The only weakness of AirTable is that it doesn't yet have its customer-facing app drag & drop builder... but it can easily integrate with a lot of app builders like Glide / Bubble / Adalo. At my company, I'm continuously rebuilding various SaaS apps (we used to use for internal management) helping my team cut contracts and save hundreds of thousands of dollars.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

• No customer-facing app drag and drop builder (AirTable is focusing on internal apps) • Automations stop working when a limit is reached (e.g. if you reach your email sents limit - your automation will face errors and these automations will not re-run the next day) • AirTable forms is powerful tool working in unison with AirTable, however, the forms themselves lack flexibility to customise and more advanced features • Interface graphs can show only a single data point on a graph (no multiple KPIs, no benchmark or goal line etc.). Overall AirTable is very basic when it comes to data visualisation on a graph (Sheets or Excel are much better here) • Pretty weak user and editing history management - you can only see editing history on a record level but not on a field (column) or tab (sheet) level. You can only see a history list of deleted records/views/tabs but you can see a history list of data edits) • You can't add comments/notes directly to a specific cell (instead to see comments you need to open entire record)

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

With AirTable I'm building: • Internal apps for project/task management, planning, reporting, accounting, sales, HR management, recruiting, ticketing management, approval, prioritization etc. • Databases • Knowledge management • Workflow optimization • Process automation • Dashboards • Even backends for customer-facing apps

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 18, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
CB
Carl B.
Email, Chat And Phone Representative.
Share
"Keep it simple!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

Airtable provides me with all the details that I need to know about a product.

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Small fonts and small pictures when you are trying to search for a specific product.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

It solves the problem that we have with a specific product.

Mid Market (51-1000 emp.)
Jul 16, 2022
 Source
Overall Rating:
5.0
RK
Radhika K.
Event Tech Specialist
Share
"Best Cloud based Spreadsheet Software!!"
What do you like best about Airtable?

I really like how data is stored and updated real time, i love the filters we can add on Airtable. Also, collaborative aspect of Airtable is amazing!!

What do you dislike about Airtable?

Maybe add some more colors to group columns and rows plus a interactive dashboard.

What problems is Airtable solving and how is that benefiting you?

Solving the problem for those working with complex Microsoft Excels previously. Airtable is much more simple and more collaborative than any other software out there.

Visit website